Splendid Isolation

During the pandemic, I started writing a series of what I thought would be short stories, each set in a different historical pandemic. Splendid Isolation is set in ancient Athens during the plague of Athens in 430BC. It stars one of my favorite literary characters: Socrates. In the story, a very young Plato and Socrates scour the city for wine and a wife for the middle-aged philosopher.

As usual the story did not come out as short as I would like. At fifty pages, it’s not a short story and it’s not a novel. Because it’s very difficult to publish something of this size, I decided to release it on Amazon and let it live whatever life it can find. I had such a great time writing it that I thought it would be a shame to just let in languish in solitude.

So if you’re a lover of classical texts and the idea of a new dialogue by Socrates excites you, this is the story for you! I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a comment